World Cup Golden Boot contenders so far


Last Update: 26 June 2018, 7:48am

With the first round of matches underway and all groups having played their first match it鈥檚 time to take a look at which players are already on the scoreboard for the Golden Boot.

Two weeks into the competition and we already know some of the teams going home and some of the top teams. The top scorers have not really changed this past week only there positions. Harry Kane has flown to the top after his hat-trick against Panama and Lukaku has taken the second spot above Ronaldo based on time played.

We are heading into the quarter-finals and Harry Kane is the only one to break away from the group after scoring against Colombia in the Round of 16. Ronaldo and De Costa have been sent home which takes them out of the final running. New entries are Edison Cavani and聽Kylian Mbapp茅.

Here are the top scorers so far:

馃敽聽馃彺鬆仹鬆仮鬆仴鬆伄鬆仹鬆伩 Harry Kane: 6 goals 鈿解毥鈿解毥鈿解毥

Harry Kane is the top goal scorer at the World Cup so far

馃敽聽馃嚙馃嚜 Romelu Lukaku: 4 goals 鈿解毥鈿解毥

Romelu Lukaku scored two goals against Panama
Romelu Lukaku scored two goals against Panama

馃敾聽馃嚨馃嚬 Cristiano Ronaldo: 4 goals 鈿解毥鈿解毥

Ronaldo is already a contender for the Golden Boot
Ronaldo is already a contender for the Golden Boot

馃啎聽馃嚭馃嚲聽Edinson Cavani: 3 goals聽鈿解毥鈿

馃敽聽馃嚪馃嚭 Denis Cheryshev: 3 goals 鈿解毥鈿

馃嚜馃嚫 Diego Costa: 3 goals 鈿解毥鈿

馃嚪馃嚭 Artem Dzyubu: 3 goals 鈿解毥鈿

馃啎 馃嚝馃嚪聽Kylian Mbappe: 3 goals聽鈿解毥鈿

Kylian Mbapp茅
Page semi-protected
Kylian Mbapp茅 is the youngest goalscorer for France at a World Cup

馃啎聽馃嚚馃嚧聽Yerry Mina: 3 goals聽鈿解毥鈿

How does it work:

The Golden Boot is awarded to the top goal scorer of the tournament. If two players have scored the same amount of goals then it is drilled down to number of assists made and minutes played, the player who has played fewer minutes will be ranked as higher.

Past Golden Boot winners:

Tournament Winner
Brazil 2014 James Rodriguez
South Africa 2010 Thomas M眉ller
Germany 2006 Miroslav Klose
Japan/South Korea 2002 Ronaldo
France 1998 Davor Suker
USA 1994 Oleg Salenko and Hristo Stoichkov
Italy 1990 Salvatore Schillaci
Mexico 1986 Gary Lineker
Spain 1982 Paolo Rossi